Kai - the Full Draw · Kyudo · Nobiai

The “Chest” in Kyudo

You’ll often hear about “opening up your chest” (“mune wo hiraku”) in kyudo, but what exactly does it mean?

What exactly is your chest?

I’ve always just imagined expanding from the center line of my chest expanding outwards in nobiai.

After thinking about it more I’ve thought about it encompassing my whole chest to the edges of my shoulders which helps feel like I’m “opening up the chest.”

But recently someone told me to think of my chest as the small open space at the top of my chest between my collarbones.

Open up from there,

and I wonder what feelings will arise …

Time to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

